Mike Fratello chosen as the winner of the Chuck Daly Lifetime Achievement Award

SAN FRANCISCO — Mike Fratello has won everything from big games to an Emmy award. He also earned the respect of his peers.

Fratello was announced Sunday as this year’s recipient of the Chuck Daly Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by the National Basketball Coaches Association. He becomes the 17th recipient of the award, created in 2009.

Fratello has been involved in the NBA in some capacity – assistant coach, head coach or broadcaster – since the late 1970s. He spent parts of 17 seasons as head coach in Atlanta, Cleveland and Memphis, winning 667 regular season games and 20 playoff games. He also won a New York Emmy for Outstanding On-Camera Sports Analyst in 2015.

“Chuck Daly was a special man and a special coach – and that’s a special award,” Fratello said. “It means so much to me because Chuck was a trusted mentor, close friend and confidant during my NBA coaching career and beyond. It is an honor to be recognized by my peers, whom I respect and admire.”

Fratello will officially receive the award from NBCA President Rick Carlisle of the Indiana Pacers later Sunday before Game 2 of the NBA Finals in San Francisco.

Fratello was the NBA’s Coach of the Year in the 1985-86 season with the Hawks, and he was also accomplished internationally. He is a former coach of the Ukrainian national team and most recently coached the United States men’s team in the qualifying matches that helped USA Basketball win the FIBA ​​AmeriCup tournament scheduled for September.

“I wanted to help USA move forward and qualify for the next stage,” Fratello said after those qualifying wins. “The fact that we were able to do this was very rewarding for me. I love seeing young guys come together, form a team, work together, play together in defence, pass the ball together and then be successful.”

The NBCA created the Daly Award to honor those who “set a standard of integrity, competitive excellence, and tireless promotion of NBA basketball.”

Past recipients are Larry Brown (2021), Del Harris (2020), Frank Layden (2019), Doug Moe (2018), Al Attles and Hubie Brown (2017), KC Jones and Jerry Sloan (2016), Dick Motta (2015 ), Bernie Bickerstaff (2014), Bill Fitch (2013), Pat Riley (2012), Lenny Wilkens (2011), Jack Ramsay and Tex Winter (2010) and Tommy Heinsohn (2009).

About Maria Hunter

Check Also

A tennis tournament in memory of the late coach Robert Logan scheduled for Saturday

The Robert Logan Tennis Invitational can be an emotional time for some, including coaches. The …